November 12, 2009

On the road again...

Well this is just going to be a quick update for now.... we left (Petunia came with me) yesterday a little later than expected, but all in good time. Initial plans were to try to make it to Natchez Trace State Park in between Nashville and Memphis, but we'd stop wherever. After several hours of being stuck on the highway in traffic, and trying to find a place to stay several times, we ended up at Natchez Trace! I really just wanted to wake up in the woods or a park with the trees around me, and that's what happened. There was alot of late night driving trying to find the spot, and we ended up at the 'wrangler's campground' where people stay with their horses- there was only one other person there. On the way in I saw two red foxes playing around in the road, a deer, and two skunks. Also saw a group of turkeys back near Hot Springs, NC. Petunia and I just slept in the van (I have a futon in the back with the seats out) since we got in pretty late. The van is great for sleeping in, I'm really enjoying it. I slept in it the few nights before my Vision Quest in September, and I guess that's the last road trip I was on. Anyways, we didn't spend any time hiking or anything, but the forest and park seemed to be a nice place to check out. We're headed on to Pinson Mounds, just down the road I think. I can't wait to see what this place is like- old ceremonial mounds from the native people long ago.

I think we'll make it to Little Rock or so... or wherever we get. We'll stay at a hotel tonight. I've made this trip so many times, from KY to TX, or NC to TX, or IL to TX..... it's strange when I find I recognize the exits, the gas stations, the McDonalds... like right now I'm on the side of a parking lot at a McDonalds/gas station combo.... and I've parked in this exact place before at least once. Strange. Also, I realized with this trip, maybe it's just that I'm getting old... or wiser..... but wow what a difference to take three days instead of two! Makes it much more enjoyable..... and I'm not killing myself to drive as much as humanly possible just to get there. Yay for learning.... ; )

I hope everyone is well out there..... :)

No comments: